Databases

CINAHL is a Nursing and Allied Health Literature Database which is available to healthcare staff.  Titles and abstracts of peer-reviewed research are available. Check your organisation for access to this database. Depending on the subscription by your organisation’s library, full-text articles are available.Check with a Librarian in your area to see if they have a document supply service.

UptoDate – Full-text on 10,000 peer-reviewed topics in over 22 specialties, including geriatrics and palliative care. It is written by physicians, updated regularly and includes practical recommendations on diagnosis and treatment. It also includes patient information.

PubMed / MedlinePubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Results can be filtered to Medline only.

Medline Plus – End of Life Issues

TRIP Database – Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Cochrane Library – The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making and includes full-text articles in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

LENUS – Lenus (online archive) is Ireland’s foremost repository for health services research and grey literature. Lenus makes available the research output of the many organisations providing healthcare in the Republic of Ireland, along with their administrative, clinical and regulatory publications. It was launched in 2009 and is managed by the Regional Library & Information Service in Dr Steevens’ Hospital, Dublin. Milford Care Centre has a research collection on Lenus.

DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journals containing 10000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities

PEDRO – Physiotherapy Evidence Database

OT Evidence – OT Databases

 

 

Journals

Bereavement Care

BMC Geriatrics

BMC Medicine

BMC Nursing

BMC Palliative Care

European Journal of Palliative Care

International Journal of Older People Nursing

International Journal of Palliative Nursing

Irish Journal of Occupational Therapy

Palliative & Supportive Care

Palliative Medicine

 

Advertisements